All The Books To Read Before They Hit The Big (Or Small) Screen

From Queenie to Everything I Know About Love, here's what to read now...

Books to TV/Film

by Shana Lynch |

Arguably some of the biggest hits on our screens — both big and small — in recent times have been story lines that were adapted from best-selling books. Don’t believe us? Just think about what you spent lockdown watching: Normal People, Little Fires Everywhere, The Undoing — they were all books first.

And now, with amazing autumn TV right around the corner, there really isn't a better time to pick up the summer reading you've been slacking on all summer. Because, before you know it, a lot – a lot – of the best books will be hitting the big and small screen.

In fact, in the last few weeks, it's been confirmed that two of our favourite reads, Dolly Alderton's Everything I Know About Love and Candice Carty Williams' Queenie, are both being made into TV series. And if that wasn't enough, filming for the BBC adaptation of Sally Rooney's Conversations with Friends has started, which means there will be something to fill the Normal People-sized hole in our hearts soon enough.

Luckily for us, the book-to-screen adaptations aren’t slowing down anytime soon. From Sienna Miller set to star in the TV version of Anatomy of a Scandal to Lily James in Daisy Edgar Jones in Where The Crawdads Sing, our screens will soon be full of stories that started as books. Don’t let yourself be caught out — here’s all the books you need to read before they hit screens…

Gallery

Books To Read Before They Hit Screens - Grazia

Book to film/tv
1 of 23

This Is Going To Hurt, Adam's Kay's real-life behind-the-scenes look at the life of a junior NHS doctor, is set to become a BBC TV series this autumn, starring Ben Whishaw. Autumn 2021

Book to film/tv
2 of 23

Jodie Comer, Matt Damon and Ben Affleck star in the film adaptation of Eric Jager's The Last Duel, which sees two friends compete in a duel after a woman claims she's been raped by her husband's friend. 15 October 2021

Book to film/tv
3 of 23

Starring Lady Gaga and Adam Driver, The House of Gucci delves into the insane true story of the Gucci dynasty, filled with murder, madness and glamour. 26 November 2021

Book to film/tv
4 of 23

Directed by Guillermo del Toro, the film remake of Nightmare Alley sees a corrupt con-man (Bradley Cooper) collaborate with psychiatrist Dr Lilith Ritter (Cate Blanchett) to trick people into giving them money. 3 December 2021

Book to film/tv
5 of 23

A collage professor must confront her unsettling past after developing an obsession with a woman and her young daughter she met on holiday in Italy. The cast includes Dakota Johnson, Paul Mescal and Olivia Colman. 7 January 2022

Book to film/tv
6 of 23

A well-to-do husband (Ben Affleck) thinks he's figured out the secret to a happy marriage by allowing his wife (Ana de Armas) to have affairs as she wishes. That is, until one of her lovers disappears and the husband becomes a prime suspect. 14 January 2022

Book to film/tv
7 of 23

Another book-to-screen adaptation by Reese Witherspoon's production company, Hello Sunshine, who have given us Little Fires Everywhere and The Morning Show, Where The Crawdads Sing is set to hit screens next year. The story follows the life of 'The Marsh Girl,' a young woman who has lived alone in the marshes of North Carolina for years, fending for herself while still yearning to be loved. 24 June 2022

Book to film/tv
8 of 23

Starring IRL sisters Elle and Dakota Fanning, The Nightingale tells the tory of two sisters in France whose lives are torn apart at the onset of War War II. 30 December 2022

Book to film/tv
9 of 23

The Netflix adaption of Jane Austen's classic novel is set to star Henry Golding and Dakota Johnson. 2022

Book to film/tv
10 of 23

Channel 4 has made all our dreams come true by announcing that Candice Carty-Williams' Queenie, a novel about the life and loves of 25-year-old British-Jamaican Queen Jenkins, is to be made into a TV series. We can't wait. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
11 of 23

Dolly Alderton's heartfelt memoir Everything I Know About Love will be coming to the BBC as a seven-part series soon, starring Bel Powley and Emma Appleton. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
12 of 23

The Last Thing He Told Me opens with Hannah receiving a note from her husband Owen that reads two simple works, 'Protect her.' Hannah knows exactly who it's referring to: her sixteen-year-old stepdaughter, Bailey, who tragically lost her mother as a child. But as Hannah's calls to Owen go unanswered and his boss is arrested for fraud, Hannah realises her husband might not be who he says he is… Upcoming

Book to film/tv
13 of 23

Sienna Miller and Michelle Dockery will star in the TV-adaptation of Anatomy of a Scandal, which will centre 'on a high-profile marriage that begins to unravel when the husband is accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is sure her husband, James, is innocent and desperately hopes to protect her precious family from the lies which might ruin them. Kate is the barrister who will prosecute the case - she is equally certain that James is guilty and determined he will pay for his crimes.' Upcoming

Book to film/tv
14 of 23

Following a fictional rock band in the 1970s as they rise to fame in the LA, the TV-adaptation of Daisy Jones and the Six will be presented in a documentary style starring Riley Keough, Sam Claflin and Suki Waterhouse. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
15 of 23

After the BBC adaptation of Sally Rooney's Normal People, we were practically begging for more. Now our prayers are answered, with filming of the TV adaption of Rooney's novel Conversation with Friends started in Ireland. The cast includes newcomer Alison Oliver, Joe Alwyn and Jemima Kirke. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
16 of 23

Ana de Armas is set to star as Marilyn Monroe in this fictionalised look at her superstar life. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
17 of 23

Set in 1984, this story follows an unnamed American woman during the Nicaraguan Revolution as she works as a journalist — or so we're told. She then meets an unnamed English oil businessman (Robert Pattinson); the two fall in love and are forced to flee the country. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
18 of 23

Dakota Johnson is set to star in the insane, inspiring true story of Bexy Cameron who grew up in the religious cult the Children of God. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
19 of 23

Another BBC drama to keep us on our toes, The Girl Before tells the story of Jane (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) who gets the chance to live in a beautiful, ultra-minimalist house — as long as she follows a long list of strict rules. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
20 of 23

79-year-old Old Hollywood star Evelyn Hugo finally decides to give one tell-all interview, but only if it's with unknown journalist Monique Grant. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
21 of 23

A teenager moves to live with her grandmother in Hawaii and is forced to confront events from her past after her fellow students are murdered. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
22 of 23

Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, Exciting Times follows 22-year-old Ava as she leaves home in Ireland for the first time to move to Hong-Kong. Upcoming

Book to film/tv
23 of 23

Hulu is set to bring Malibu Rising, Taylor Jenkins Reid's book of the summer, to small screens soon. Follow along with the four Riva siblings in the summer of 1983 as they throw one last epic party in Malibu. Upcoming

READ MORE: Sally Rooney's Normal People: Which Films, Books And TV Shows To Watch Next

READ MORE: The Grazia Team Recommends: What To Watch, Read And Listen To

READ MORE: 5 Books That Deserve A Netflix Adaptation After '13 Reasons Why'

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us