Instagram Will Now Alert You If Someone Takes A Screenshot

Relax, it's not as bad as it seems and we'll guide you through it

cara delevingne instagram screenshot

by Ellie Wiseman |

It’s becoming increasingly difficult to keep up with Instagram’s new updates. In recent weeks we have seen several big alterations to the world’s favourite photography app, likening it more and more to Snapchat. We’re talking about Instagram stories, disappearing photos and, perhaps the biggest news of all – notifications when someone screenshots your photo. What? It's shaping up to be a battle of Snapchat vs Instagram. Buckle up.

Does Instagram tell you when someone screenshots?

So, does Instagram notify screenshots? Well, yes, but not in the way you may think. Instagram will only send notifications when a user has taken a screenshot of a disappearing photo, sent by another user, just like Snapchat. But this is where it gets confusing - a disappearing photo is different to Instagram Direct and not quite an Instagram story.

Here's what an Instagram screenshot notification looks like and how to do it:

1. Click the icon

instagram guide
©instagram

Go to your Instagram homepage and click the triangle icon in the right-hand corner.

2. Click the camera

instagram guide
©instagram

You'll then be taken to your Instagram Direct messages. To send a disappearing photo click on the camera icon on the left-hand side of the screen.

3. Take a photo

instagram guide
©instagram

You can take a photo/video from here, on front or rear-facing camera. Or, if you swipe upwards you can pick to send a photo from your Camera Roll.

4. Send to a friend

instagram guide
©instagram

You can either post it to Your Story or click the send button in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen to send to an individual or to a group of people.

5. They will recieve notification

instagram guide
©instagram

The friend you have sent a disappearing photo to (or group of friends) will then recieve a notification saying they have sent you a photo.

6. If they screenshot it, you will be notified

instagram guide

You will get a instagram screenshot alert that looks like this if someone screenshots your disappearing photo.

To recap - can you see if someone screenshots your Instagram? You can still screenshot Instagram posts freely and undetected, but if you screenshot a disappearing photo that has been sent specifically to you, then that person will be alerted.

So, you can still lurk under the radar, for now at least. Hopefully there won't be anymore Instagram screenshot updates for us to contend with. It's already like stepping through a minefield.

Share Posts By Screenshotting Them

Instagram's new update now allows you to Share by screenshotting a post. You will receive a notification as soon as you screenshot, and then when you click Share you will be presented with the options to share to Facebook, Messenger, Twitter, or to 'Copy Share URL'.

instagram update

Save Instagram Posts

Instagram now has a hub where you can view Instagram posts that you've saved. By clicking the flag icon on a post you will be saving it, but the owner of the post will not be notified.

instagram update

View all the posts you've Saved on the tab on your profile.

instagram update

READ MORE: How To Master Instagram Stories

READ MORE: Instagram Just Became A Lot More Like Snapchat

READ MORE: Lurking On Snapchat Just Became Even Easier With These New Features

READ MORE: 7 Things You Didn't Know You Could Do On Snapchat

READ MORE: 11 Ways To Preserve IPhone Battery

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us