If we asked you to raise your hand if you felt you spent a liiiiiitle more time on Instagram than you’d be comfortable admitting, I’m sure yours wouldn't be the only one in the air.
The average adult spends 25 hours per week online, and us Instagram junkies have a suspicion that the app is responsible for a hefty proportion of those hours.
We feel we are pretty well-versed in understanding how it works and how to navigate it, I mean just check out Grazia's Instagram feed However, there are some things we’d like to clear up for good.
What is Instagram Archive and how do you use it?
You may have come across the clock icon on the top right hand corner on your profile when you were doing your nightly scroll, but a little unsure as to what it entailed. So, before you go clicking away, here’s what you need to know…
Firstly, only you can see your archive, but you can only archive your own content. Do this by clicking on the three dot icon on one of your posts and clicking ‘Archive’. This will hide that photo off your profile and show it on your Archive page. Then, if you want to, you can move that photo back by clicking ‘Show on Profile’, and it will go back to its original spot on your feed.
There are two reasons why Instagram Archive has been introduced: to move old posts that you don’t have the heart to delete permanently – i.e. an old selfie that didn’t quite get the reception you’d hoped for, or, say you wanted to hide a picture of an ex so you don't have to see it everyday – and to make people feel more comfortable about posting photos in the first place, as the stakes aren't so be-all-end-all.
How do you block someone on Instagram, and what happens when you block someone?
There are a whole host of reasons why you would feel the need to block someone on Instagram: you have a weird stalker who comments strange things on everything you do and you’d feel more comfortable removing their access from your page; you might block an ex, just to save yourself accidentally seeing something you'd rather not; or, for perhaps inexplicable and irrational reasons, you’d rather just not have somebody popping in your cyber-sphere: block block block.
Blocking someone on Instagram is straightforward. Just go on their account, click the three-dot icon and click ‘Block User’.
That’s all well and good, but when you block someone, what exactly can they see?
Blocking somebody on Instagram isn’t quite like blocking someone on Facebook. If you block somebone on Facebook all trace of you is removed from their view; they can’t even search your name. However, on Instagram it’s a little different.
Firstly, when you block a user you are cutting the contact between you so that you no longer follow each other, so even if you _un_block them later on you’ll have to re-follow each other.
Secondly, if you block someone you can still see search for their profile, see their profile (unless they are private), and see their username on your feed, say if they have liked other posts. So unfortunately you can't brutally delete all traces of them like you can on Facebook.
So, what can they see when you block them? Well, they can still search your name, find your profile and see your bio. It will give them the option to ‘Follow’, but if they were to click it nothing would happen. To them, your profile would say ‘No Posts Yet’.
There’s a catch though, the only way you can really stop someone from your profile is if you block them and make your profile private. This is because a blocked user can still view your profile if they type in your username into a browser, as to view un-private Instagram profiles you don’t even need an Instagram account.
On the contrary, you can actually decide to receive notifications when your favourite users post on Instagram, by going on their profile and clicking on the three-dot icon, and pressing 'Turn On Post Notifications'.
Can I filter comments?
Instagram has just launched a feature which was previously only available to celebrities such as Taylor Swift.
The social media app can now use advanced machine learning technology to detect and filter out offensive comments. According to Instagram, the goal is to ensure that the social media platform remains a 'safe place for self expression'. The app is also aiming to tackle spam by blocking them. Remember, you can also report, delete and block any comments that you deem inappropriate.
How does Instagram arrange likes?
With all the algorithm changes made to Instagram its hard to keep up. Currently, Instagram arranges photos in your feed not based on chronology but on what posts and users you mostly interract with, thus making it more tailored to you. This has seemed to seep into the arrangement of 'likes' on posts too. At the beginning of 2016 Instagram was experimenting with how 'likes' on a post were displayed, previewing names as well as a number (why). Although there is still no clear formula to explain whose names are the lucky ones to appear not as numbers, it seems to be those who interract with your profile the most, or, if it's a friend's post, you'll see names of users that you both follow.
Can you see who's viewed your Instagram profile?
Instagram is morphing into the app Snapchat in more ways than one: you can now see who has viewed your Instagram Story and see if someone has taken a screenshot of your photo in Instagram Direct. However, there is not yet a way to see who has viewed your profile (thank god).
Can you upload more than one photo in one post?
Currently you can only upload one picture at a time but Instagram have recently announced a new feature, Instagram Galleries. This will allow you to upload up to ten photos or videos at once in a gallery style format. Your followers will then be able to swipe through your multiple snaps within their feed, a bit like when you look at photo albums on Facebook mobile.
Instagram Hack 1: Scroll through an account without accidentally 'liking'
This hack is a handy one as it will elimate that 'double-tap paranoia'. We know the feeling of getting a little too carried away having a nose at someone's Instagram and then suddenly we're 108 weeks down and our palms are clammy and our heart is thudding. Well, if you pre-load somebody's profile and then scroll down whilst on 'Airplane Mode' there is no need to fret about accidentally liking a pic of someone's summer holiday four years ago. Just come off 'Airplane Mode' anytime you want to load some more pics.
Instagram Hack 2: Arrange your filters
Do you have an Instagram theme, or even just a preferable filter you always lean towards? Well you can rearrange your Instagram filters buy swiping all the way to the end of the filter wheel, pressing 'Manage' and then dragging the filters around to an order that suits you, and unclicking any you are unlikely to use.
Did you know that there are actually 17 new Instagram filters available to you, hidden in 'Manage' function, that you can click to add to your wheel, such as 'Dogpatch', 'Kelvin', and 'Charmes'. Instagram just became a whole lot more addictive.
How do I add face filters to my Stories?
Instagram has launched a new feature, which will enable users to add filters to their snaps. Simply open the camera and tap the face icon in the bottom right hand corner. They will even work with Boomerang...
How do I rewind videos?
You can play videos in reverse using the ‘rewind’ feature. You’ll find the button beside the Boomerang feature. You can also replay Live videos for 24 hours with the latest update.
How do I add hashtags to my Story?
You can now make your content even more shareable with the latest update. Simply tap the sticker icon on the top right of your screen, select and customise the hashtag you want to include. Then, add it to your Story. Friends who view your Story will then be able to tap the hashtag to explore other relevant posts.
How do I source inspiration on the app?
Thanks to the latest update, users can now check out #OOTDs on a global scale, plan their summer travels and explore their local city's happenings with far more ease.
The social media heavyweight has launched a new feature on the Explore tab. Now, when you head to the section, you'll spot a Story ring at the top filled with Stories from your location.
You can also explore anywhere in the world by searching for the desired city and then clicking through the relevant Stories until your heart is content...
Soon, you will also be able to use hashtags on Stories, enabling you to further explore relevant content.
The social media app recently updated Instagram in order to enable users to add hashtags to their Stories.